My Year Off

30 11 2011

Learn to get in touch with silence within yourself, and know that everything in this life has purpose.  There are no mistakes, no coincidences, all events are blessings given to us to learn from. — Elizabeth Kubler-Ross

Our lives can change in an instant.  Tomorrow may be a new day and we can find ourselves in a different place than where we stand today.

Rewind to January 2010:  When I first started to blog, I challenged myself to NO SHOPPING.  I had rules and I followed them as best as I could.  I did this to help fulfill a dream my Darling Husband (DH) and I had.   Our goal was to sell our tiny condo and save for a home where we could raise a family.  When my challenge was done, we began to build our future.  March 2010, we purchased a new home and would be moving in the fall of 2010.   In April 2010, we found out that we would be expecting a new bundle of joy in the winter – my due date was December 31, 2010 to be exact.  That day came and went.  We welcomed 2011 with open arms and knew that our bundle of joy would arrive in the very near future.

My contractions started in the afternoon on Tuesday January 4th.  I remember thinking, “Oh my goodness!  It’s starting.  My life is about to change.”  We actually went to the hospital in the wee morning hours on Wednesday.  I was in labor for 8 hours.  I still recall the moment the doctor said, “Next contraction, you will need to push.”  I immediately thought, I’m not ready.  I wanted to tell him that but I knew I wanted to meet my baby.

On Wednesday January 5, 2011 at 2:26 pm, Baby H finally arrived.  HE was here!  In the blink of an eye, I went from being a wife a pregnant wife to becoming a mommy.  A new chapter in our lives was about to begin.

I decided to take the full year off for maternity leave.  I left work just before the holidays in 2010 and soon (but not too soon), I will be joining the work force again.  My year off was a blessed year.  I have waited for this blessing for a very long time and I am truly enjoying EVERY minute of it.

The first couple of months was an adjustment period for DH and I.  We were getting to know Baby H and learning how to become parents.  This new role of ours was challenging but so rewarding.  I accepted that no matter how many articles I could read about raising a child, parenting is definitely more an “on-the-job-training” kind of role.  We had to listen to our instincts and hope that it was for the best.

Watching Baby H grow is amazing.  He went from this tiny bundle of joy that would just eat, sleep and poop to this bigger bundle of joy that can now smile, laugh, kiss and walk when you hold his hand.

Baby H will soon be 11 months old… and the countdown to ONE will begin.  I HOPE that next month doesn’t go by too quickly.  I’m dreading the thought of going back to work but I know I have to go back.  There are bills to pay, food needs to be bought, things to buy… blah blah blah.

In the meantime, I get to plan his birthday celebration!  Watch out for upcoming posts on that soon…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

